Tally vs Rocket Money

Rocket Money is a United States-focused app known for finding and cancelling subscriptions and negotiating bills, with automatic bank sync. Tally does none of that: it is a budget and currency tool that reads statement files and never connects to your bank. They overlap on tracking spending, and little else.

Last updated

4 decisive differences

  1. Bank linking

    Tally
    None, by design. Tally never logs in to your bank.
    Rocket Money
    Yes. Names Plaid and Akoya. Says it never sees your bank password.Source: Rocket Money security
  2. File import

    Tally
    CSV (Wise and TD Canada Trust layouts), OFX, QFX, QBO, QIF and text-based PDF. Up to 20 MB per file, 50 files at once.
    Rocket Money
    Not stated on the pages read.
  3. Multi-currency

    Tally
    One account per currency. Overview shows By currency (exact) or Combined (converted, marked with ≈). Converter with 173 currencies on Android.
    Rocket Money
    Not stated on the pages read.
  4. Platforms

    Tally
    Android app (in testing) and a web app (in testing). No iPhone app. The Windows app is only a demo window.
    Rocket Money
    Web, iOS and Android.Source: Rocket Money

Rocket Money facts from its own website, checked on . The full table and every source are below.

How do Tally and Rocket Money differ, row by row?

Side by side, using Rocket Money's own website on 8 October 2026. Where its site does not say, the table says so.

Tally compared with Rocket Money
What it doesTallyRocket Money
PriceNot decided yet. No public sign-up.Free tier. Premium is "pay what you think is fair", typically US$7 to US$14 a month. Premium+ is US$15 a month. Bill negotiation otherwise takes a share of savings.Source: Rocket Money pricing article
PlatformsAndroid app (in testing) and a web app (in testing). No iPhone app. The Windows app is only a demo window.Web, iOS and Android.Source: Rocket Money
Bank linkingNone, by design. Tally never logs in to your bank.Yes. Names Plaid and Akoya. Says it never sees your bank password.Source: Rocket Money security
File importCSV (Wise and TD Canada Trust layouts), OFX, QFX, QBO, QIF and text-based PDF. Up to 20 MB per file, 50 files at once.Not stated on the pages read.
Multi-currencyOne account per currency. Overview shows By currency (exact) or Combined (converted, marked with ≈). Converter with 173 currencies on Android.Not stated on the pages read.
CanadaTD Canada Trust and Wise file layouts are built in. Starter rules cover many Canadian merchants. Canadian dollar is the default.Not stated. Its pages describe over 12,000 financial institutions across the U.S.Source: Rocket Money security
PrivacyNo bank aggregator, no analytics, no ads. Your budget data syncs to a Tally server over HTTPS. Not end-to-end encrypted.Says it does not accept payment in exchange for your personal information. Uses TLS in transit and 256-bit AES at rest.Source: Rocket Money security
AI featuresNone.Promotes an AI-powered financial assistant.Source: Rocket Money
Rival facts checked on

Prices change. Check Rocket Money's own pages before you decide.

What does Rocket Money do better?

Rocket Money is ahead in these ways.

  • Subscription finding and cancellation, including a service that cancels for you.
  • Bill negotiation on your behalf.
  • Automatic bank sync, plus a free tier to start with.
  • iOS and Android apps. Tally has no iPhone app.

What does Tally do differently?

Tally is in development, so these are the choices it has made, not a claim to be better.

  • No bank connection and no middleman holding your login.
  • Budgets with rollover, a 60-day safe to spend projection and a cash-flow forecast.
  • Several currencies kept apart, plus a converter that needs no account.
  • No AI features, no ads and no analytics.

Who should pick Tally or Rocket Money?

It depends on whether you want your bank linked.

Where do these facts come from?

Every Rocket Money fact comes from a page on its own site, read on 8 October 2026.

Tally facts follow Tally's own fact sheet. Tally is in development: no public sign-up, no price yet, no iPhone app.

Keep reading

The guides explain the file method and what the numbers mean.